Louisiana Tech University Logo

Louisiana Tech University

News @ Tech

Chemistry professor named a National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Dr. Yuri Lvov, professor of chemistry and T. Pipes Eminent Endowed Chair in Micro and Nanosystems at Louisiana Tech University, has been named a 2014 Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). Lvov is one of only two academic inventors from Louisiana institutions to earn the NAI’s Fellow distinction for 2014. Election to NAI [more]

Biomedical engineering professor receives NSF funding

— NSF I-Corps program to help team commercialize artificial cell manufacturing for education — National Science Foundation (NSF) funding to develop and commercialize artificially-manufactured cells and cell platforms for educational, research and industry application has been awarded to a team of scientists led by Dr. Mark DeCoster, the James E. Wyche III Professor in Biomedical [more]

Louisiana Tech first-year, senior students highly rate overall college experience

Ninety-three percent of first-year students and 88 percent of seniors at Louisiana Tech University said they would rate their entire educational experience at the institution as “excellent or good,” according to the National Survey of Student Engagement’s (NSSE) “Bringing the Institution into Focus – Annual Results 2014” survey report. In addition to their feedback on [more]

Louisiana Tech initiative provides opportunities for new businesses to flourish

Entrepreneurs striving to develop and grow innovative business enterprises in 2015 are invited to participate in Louisiana Tech University’s I-20 Corridor Regional Accelerator initiative, which provides training, coaching and networking opportunities that facilitates strong and steady progress for new business ventures. Beginning January 13, meetings will be held at 5:30 p.m. every other Tuesday in [more]

Louisiana Tech, Envoy Air partner on pilot training program

Louisiana Tech University’s Department of Professional Aviation and Envoy Air have partnered on a pilot mentoring and hiring program that will help students transition to a first officer position with Envoy Air and provide an opportunity for a $10,000 scholarship. The program selects Louisiana Tech professional aviation students as early as their sophomore year, from [more]

Debate team earns top spot among U.S. institutions at Canadian competition

The Louisiana Tech University Debate Team continued its successful 2014-2015 debate season with an excellent showing at the Canadian Debate Championship held recently at the University of Western Ontario in London, Ontario. Louisiana Tech’s debate team finished the competition as the highest ranked team from the United States, competing against some of the most elite [more]

Auditions to be held for theatre production of ‘The Last Night of Ballyhoo’

Auditions for Louisiana Tech University Theatre Department’s production of “The Last Night of Ballyhoo,” directed by Louisiana Tech Theatre Professor Paul B. Crook, will be held at 7:30 p.m. December 8 in Stone Theatre, located in Louisiana Tech’s Howard Center for the Performing Arts. The cast will be composed of four females and three males. [more]

Molecular biologist to present as part of New Frontiers lecture series

Dr. Peter Setlow, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology and Biophysics at the University of Connecticut Health Center, will present the third installment of Louisiana Tech University’s 2014 New Frontiers in Biomedical Research series. Setlow’s lecture titled, “When the Sleepers Awake: The Germination of Bacterial Spores,” will take place at 3:30 p.m. December [more]

Louisiana Tech receives $1.45 million grant to support STEM teacher preparation

The National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI) and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) have awarded Louisiana Tech University a $1.45 million grant to support teacher preparation in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields, as part of the national UTeach program. Louisiana Tech is one of just five universities nationwide selected to receive the [more]